Filled Journals

Every time I fill a journal, I feel like I’m closing a chapter of my life and embarking on a new one, even though nothing in my life changes other than the book in which I write my thoughts. Sometimes it’s crazy  to realize that I’ve filled an entire book.

This last journal is a special accomplishment. I’ve never learned and grown as much as I have during the time recorded in my most recent journal. I’ve gone from overweight, depressed, anxious and nearly hopeless to grateful, joyful, conscious, and at peace with my body and life. I’ve reconnected to my creativity and I’m laying the foundation for a career that mirrors who I am.

I always wonder who will end up reading my journals and whether he or she will need the help of a handwriting analyst to do so. Probably  my children and grandchildren.  They’ll learn more about me than they ever wanted to know. Sometimes I worry about what I’ve written, that it will shame me someday. My journals are intensely personal, and I often cringe when I read my teenage journals; the love drama, disordered eating and thought patterns, over-dramatic musings over things that seem so trivial now.

What can I say. I’m an emotional person. I feel things deeply, and for a long time I didn’t know how to handle those feelings. I thought they’d eat me alive. Every unrequited crush, bad grade, pound gained or bad day felt like the end of the world, like it could swallow me whole.

I’m far from perfect, but I feel like I’m in a good place. I’m far more balanced now than I’ve ever been before, and I feel more alive than I did as a child climbing trees in the backyard. I think I have a healthy sense of perspective, direction for my life and career, a solid foundation for handling emotions and caring for myself, and my self-esteem is better than it has ever been. It’s sad that it took me 23 years to discover my own worth, but not unusual. Everyone hits this point at different times, and some never arrive at all. I may not always be this healthy either, I may have to rediscover this place a few times throughout my life. Now that I know where it is, hopefully it will be easier to find in the future.

I wonder if the word “journal” shares a root with “journey”. That’s what a journal is to me.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Authenticity, Body image, Creativity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yes, journal and journey both come, through French, from Latin diurnus, meaning ‘daily.’ A journal is ‘a daily account,’ and a journey was originally ‘a day’s travel.’

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

