Noticing-The First Step to Change

 

Over this winter, I’ve fallen back into a bad habit that I’ve been trying to kick for years.

Stressing out over little things. Everything feels like an emergency to me.

Part of this may have to do with tired adrenals, which I suspect I’m experiencing, but I believe that 90% of our health starts in our minds. ┬áIf anything is wrong with my body right now, it started in my head.

I mentioned earlier this week that I’ve been holding a lot of tension in my shoulders, neck, and face lately. I’ve also noticed that I’ve been doing things like I’m in a race. You should see me wash dishes. I move quickly, my heart rate seems to be elevated more often than not, my thoughts fly around my head like a swarm of bees, and sometimes I feel powerless to stop it.

Then I remind myself that the first step to change is noticing.

I know plenty of people who run on full throttle all day long and never realize it. Sometimes I compare myself to them and feel bad because they seem so much stronger than me, but I’m glad that I can notice what is going on and why it doesn’t serve me. Stress wears me out. When I notice that feeling, I can go into it and find out why it’s there. I can ask myself why I feel that way. 9 times of out of 10, its’ something that really isn’t a big deal.

I don’t beat myself up for stressing over little things. Instead, I ask myself a few more questions. What’s the worst thing that could happen? Even if it did happen, it’s never the end of the world. Will this matter in a few years? Probably not. Am I thinking realistically, or am I letting my imagination run amok? (The downside to having an active imagination is that it can take any situation and run off in any direction without looking back)

I’m getting better at reining myself back in a few times a day. It takes practice, but it’s getting easier.

How do you handle stress? Do you stay calm or do you tend to be a stress case like me? Do you notice before it runs you into the ground?

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Stress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sometimes physical sensations represent exiled feelings that we don’t want to feel. You may want to sit with those sensations, ask them to step aside & see if they have any stories that need to be listened to or acknowledged.

    • I just reread Women Food and God by Geneen Roth, and she wrote that we tend to have certain feelings about things because we believe the stories well tell ourselves about those things. Those stories aren’t always true. I definitely need to work on this though, thanks for the reminder!

  2. Thank you for posting this today. I have a tendency to run through life as well and I’m not sure why I’m running so fast. One of the best ways for me to slow down is exercise. But then it’s tricky because I’ll find myself rushing more in other areas so I can find time to exercise! But it does always help. Enjoy your day.

    • Life is certainly a delicate balance. Sometimes I rush through other things so I can make time for the things that feed me, but I end up forgetting to enjoy the other parts of life as well. Some of the best moments of my life have been while I was doing something “tedious”. That “aha” moment while driving to the grocery store, the inexplicable surge of happiness when the light comes in the kitchen just right while I’m mopping the floor…that kind of thing.

  3. I have not been handling stress very well lately either. I know most of it is in my head. I had a breakthrough on Wednesday morning and that is I am in control and just need to let things roll at times. Stress is a time waster and a health and wellness zapper – no thank you! Hang In There & Have a Great Weekend:)

  4. I do all of those things!! I’m a rusher many times. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. I exercise. That tends to help some.

  6. I was diagnosed with adrenal fatigue a few years back while I was trying to work out what was causing my many health issues. Eventually I worked out adrenal fatigue was only a symptom of Pyroluria. The supplements for Pyroluria have been a real life saver. I’m back to being a normal person now, relaxed, calm, focussed and pretty much stress free.

    I blog about living life with Pyroluria now at: http://pyrolurialife.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

