Acceptance or Resignation?

 

A lot of us aren’t happy with where we are in our lives at the moment. We aren’t satisfied with what we’re doing or where we happen to be or what we are. We here so often that we need to accept ourselves as we are and where we are. Most of us fight this notion. I sure do.

I reread Women, Food, and God by Geneen Roth last week (one big long string of Aha! moments. Read it.) and she mentioned that accepting is not the same as resigning yourself to a situation. It doesn’t mean that you give up and tell yourself that things will never change, or even worse, that you can’t change things. I think most of us think that acceptance involves giving up, so no wonder we resist it!

Accepting is acknowledging where you are and realizing that it’s ok for now. You may still want to change, especially if you don’t like your current situation. By all means, work hard to change if that’s what you really want, just don’t beat yourself up for where you are.

Acceptance is a change of attitude, that’s all. It’s not quitting. It took me awhile to let this sink in, but I realized that it’s something that I’ve always known on some level. I’ve never created significant change in my life until I accepted where I was first.I had to love myself the way I was and realize that I had to be where I was, because that’s where I happened to be. That situation had something to teach me. I accepted that knowledge, but I still wanted to change. Change happened pretty spontaneously after that.

Whenever I my situation and struggled against it, I got even more stuck. It’s like struggling when you’re sinking in quicksand (the movies always say that’s a bad idea) and sinking even faster.

What do you want to change in your life? What do you need to accept?

I’ll go first.

  • I accept that I need to have a job right now when I’d rather be a full-time artist and writer. Luckily, I enjoy my job, but I’d still rather do my own thing. It’s ok though. This job takes care of me, and I’m glad to have it. I’ll still work toward my goal, but I’m happy with what I’m doing right now.
  • I accept that I don’t have the money to travel the world right now, but obviously, world travel isn’t what I need at the moment or I’d have it. I can love my life anyway. I’d still like to travel and I’ll work toward that goal, but I won’t snub the joys of home.
  • I accept that I have about 10 extra pounds of “winter coat” around my hips and thighs. This is a little heavier than what I’m comfortable with, but it’s ok for now. I’ll still love and take care of my body and I’ll trust it to even things out on its own.
  • I accept that it’s still winter even though I’d really like it to be spring. We’ve had a lovely springy week and now there’s about six inches of snow on the ground and temperatures have dropped. I’ll take whatever moisture we can get for a nice green summer, and I’ll embrace a few more weeks of layers and hot soup.

I’ll accept these things, but I also expect change. I think the distinction here is simply attitude, because forcing change does not work. One cannot reach their natural weight by hating his or her body now. One can’t create a thriving career by refusing to acknowledge the starting point, where she is now.

How about you? What are you accepting right now? What does acceptance mean to you?

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Authenticity, Body image, Goals, Intuitive Eating, Seasons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Mckella, I can relate to many of the things you’ve accepted on your list. Thanks for sharing :-)

  2. I accept that I am a noble being who experiences the variables of life. Sure, I need more money and a slamming body but I appreciate and enjoy every gift that I have.

    I accept that I am a single older woman who desires a loving helpmate. I know that one day this will shift to a life of loving companionship since it is my intention. But, I cherish all of my relationships right now.

    Acceptance means valuing the present.
    I love Geneen Roth. Thank you for accepting yourself and me.

  3. I like that you said forcing change does not work – oh so true! Great post and made me really think about where I am currently because some things need to change. However, I need to be open to the possibilities and not become self defeating. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I had the same exact thoughts going through my mind this past weekend and came to the same conclusion. There really is no better place to be than where you are now, so long as you enjoy what you’re doing and where you’re headed. I love that you say you have to accept where you are in order to experience significant change. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

