Keeping Childlike Wonder-California Pt. 1

The week before last, I took a much-needed trip to California with my family. Sam couldn’t leave school, so it was just me, my parents, and three teenage siblings.

#3 doesn't like to smile.

We spent a day at Disneyland and I think I had more fun than anyone. I’m really just a big kid. That’s probably why I get along with kids so well. Fraggle Rock is still my favorite show and I still love the Alice in Wonderland ride at Disneyland (which we didn’t get to go on. Sad).

 

I realized how important it is to keep the wonder and sense of magic that we have as children, because that lives in the same part of our spirits as our imagination, and life without imagination is a pretty sad mess. Most of us catch a glimpse of that magic when we see Christmas lights or when we hear Disney music, but the magic tends to get lost in the stress of everyday life.

A few tips for keeping the magic:

  • Remember how you would have reacted to something when you were a child. When riding Pirates of the Caribbean or any other ride at Disneyland, I would have totally thrown myself into that world. I would actually be on a boat in the Caribbean. I’d actually be on a runaway train in a rocky mountain. I’d be a mermaid in that swimming pool. I’d be Pocahontas on that hike.

I'd actually be a princess in that castle.

  • Stop caring what other people think. I have a hard time with this one actually. This is why I don’t dance in public, even if everyone around me is (like at Holi). Don’t be afraid to cry, or laugh really hard, or even dance if a good beat gets you going.

How’s your sense of childlike magic doing?

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Authenticity, Happiness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Such fun!! I’m a big kid too! But…I love to dance in public!

    • Dancing in public is one big piece of insecurity I’m still working on. I feel like I can’t dance my way out of a wet paper bag. It’s a layered fear.

  2. I recently acted like a Big Kid while in Portland at the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry – had to back up a few times and let the actual kiddies have some fun:) Great Post – Have a Great Day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

