The Handprint List

The bucket list. 101 things to do before I die. The Barefoot List. I’ve heard it called different things, but it’s essentially the same and everyone has one whether they’ve written it down or not. They give us something to strive for and look forward to.

I call it my Handprint List, because it’s who I am, who I hope to become, and the mark I want to leave on the world, and it inspired this blog. I doubt I’ll actually accomplish all these things, but it’s a list of things I can do. It reminds me to aim high and keep an open mind. I add and remove things all the time, and I think everyone should have one of these. So here’s mine, and I hope it will inspire you to create your own. (The bold items are the ones I’ve done)

McKella’s Handprint List

Travel:

  1. Work, teach, or volunteer in a foreign country
  2. India
  3. Japan
  4. Thailand
  5. 5. China
  6. Indonesia
  7. Do a family history tour through England, Ireland, and Denmark
  8. Italy
  9. The Vatican

10.  Germany

11.  Spain

12.  Greece

13.  Turkey

14.  France

15.  Scotland

16.  Eastern Europe (Romania, Ukraine, Etc.)

17.  Visit the Galapagos Islands to see wildlife up close.

18.  Egypt

19.  Hike to Macchu Picchu

20.  Visit Mayan ruins

21.  Australia

United States

22.  Road trip across America (On a bike if I want to get really brave)

23.  New England during the fall

24.  Visit Roden Crater

25.  Visit the Sacred Grove

26. New York

27.  Ferry on the Mississippi River

28.  Salem

29.  Washinton DC, to learn about our county’s history.

30.  Visit Native American pueblos

31.  Visit the Muppet stuff in the Center for Puppetry Arts in Atlanta, Georgia.

Learning

  1. Earn a Bachelor’s Degree
  2. Speak Spanish fluently.
  3. Learn to belly dance
  4. Learn to surf
  5. Improve my piano playing
  6. Learn to play chess
  7. Improve my singing
  8. Juggling
  9. Sewing (enough to actually alter and design my own clothes)

10.  Photography

11.  Guitar

12.  Ice skating

13.  Bookmaking

14. Study abroad

15.  Learn to survive in the wilderness and test my skills

16.  Learn a martial art

17.  Learn to place Linus and Lucy in full

18.  Origami

19.  Bread making

20.  Learn to use a pottery wheel

21.  Make my own ravioli

22.  Meditation

23.  Study psychology

24.  Learn to not throw like a girl

25. Skip rocks

Career

26.  Publish novels…I don’t know how many.

27.  Publish at least one non-fiction book

28.  Become financially independent and debt-free while doing something I love

29.  Write and publish a children’s book

30.  Create a whole body of art work and have a gallery show, even a private one.

Do

31.  Sell a piece of art

32.  Change a tire all by myself

33.  Be vegan for a year

34.  Try African dance

35.  High-raw vegan for a month

36.  Name a star

37.  See the Spiral Jetty

38.  See Halley’s Comet

39.  Shower in a waterfall or in the rain

40.  Spend the night on a beach

41.  Scuba dive in a coral reef

42.  See the northern lights

43.  Touch a whale

44.  Watch a caterpillar emerge from it’s chrysalis

45.  Do 50 push-ups in a row

46.  Go an entire day without speaking

47.  Pet a tiger

48.  Archery

49.  Learn to live simply

50.  Skinny dip

51. Make a two-headed snowman, Calvin and Hobbes style

52.  Swim with dolphins

53.  Volunteer in an animal shelter

54.  Volunteer to help abused women and children

55.  Reduce my carbon footprint

56.  Throw a surprise party for someone

57.  Create a new holiday just for my family

58.  Plant a tree

59. Dance in a foreign country

60.  Ride a camel

61.  Get a golden retriever

62.  Try bikram yoga

63.  Reach my natural ideal weight through intuitive eating and enjoyable movement.

64.  Eat at a raw vegan restaurant, just to try.

65.  See Tears for Fears live.

66.  Run a half-marathon

67.  Run a race for charity

68.  Master the scorpion pose

69.  Ride a horse sidesaddle

70.  Try showjumping.

71.  Do a headstand

72.  Go rock climbing

73.  Ride in a hot air balloon

74.  Live without a car for a year

75.  Win first place in something

76.  Live by the ocean

77.  Go sailing

78.  Celebrate a non-materialist Christmas

79.  See a whale in the wild

80.  Grow my own food

81.  Do the splits

82.  Sing in a rock band

83.  Live a full-blown yogini lifestyle for six months. Asanas, cleansing practices, etc.

84.  Try fencing

85.  Get a pet pig

86.  Watch a meteor shower

87.  Own a home

88.  Trek through a jungle

89.  Write, play and sing a song

Family

90. Get married in the Temple

91.  Become a mother

92.  Homeschool my kids through elementary

93.  At least try natural childbirth…this is a big maybe, I don’t know, I don’t know.

94.  Research my geneology

95.  Do temple work for my family members

Personal

96.  Conquer my depression and anxiety

97.  Learn to truly manage stress

98.  Conquer fear (driving, being away from my family, offending people, etc.)

99.  Learn to be happy no matter what my circumstances

100. Age gracefully. None of this wrinkle fighting or hair-dyeing stuff.

101. Finally, make an amazing scrapbook of all this

I plan on making a separate tab to post photos of these things as I accomplish them, a sort of visual “checklist.”

If you have a blog, consider yourself tagged! Post your own handprint list and send me a link. I’d love to see it! If you don’t have a blog, squeeze whatever you can into the comments.

McKella

Posted on September 1, 2010, in Handprint List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. you have inspired me, I keep thinking I want to make one of these. I think I will and post it on my blog. I will let you know when I have compleated it. I love how you called it a hand print list. Such a sweet name.

  2. Love these! I’m gonna type out which ones I’ve done…

    81. Do the splits….I can rock both sides and middle. Thanks to gymnastics.

    75. Win first place in something. I’ve won state in gymnastics and I also won a reading contest in school.

    71. Do a headstand: Again, gymnastics.

    64. Eat at a raw vegan restaurant, just to try. There’s a place in OKC called 103 degrees I think and its raw vegan–it was…different 🙂

    58. Plant a tree

    59. Dance in a foreign country

    52. Swim with dolphins

    53. Volunteer in an animal shelter: This is the best way to spend an afternoon.

    -skinny dip: best feeling in the world. Feels completely natural and freeing.

    -pet a tiger. beautiful animal.

    34. Try African dance: I took an African dance class in college—it was amazing. Then, we performed at a Kwanzi (spelling?) festival.

    EArn a bachelors degree—I got mine in Communication.

    Ive been to NY, Italy, Mexico–and other places.

    Love this list!

Leave a Reply

