The End of Books?

(source)

I fought it tooth and nail, but I lost the battle.

I adore books; the feel of turning a page and smooth paper running across my finger, the lived-in feel of a book with dog-eared pages and a worn cover, and the thrill of discovering a new volume in a bookstore or library and thinking, unconsciously, this book will change my life. And they always do. Each new book plants new thoughts and ideas, each of which change my life in some small way, whether I drastically alter the way I live or make an effort to notice a certain plant that grows in my area.

The more I think about it, the more I can’t deny it: the physical book is becoming obsolete. As much as I love the chase of combing through library shelves, books are being outmoded in favor of the digital format. At this point, I have a choice. I can either cling to the past that will disappear sooner or later and become a memory, or I can embrace natural change and learn to use it. I’ve always wanted to write books, but writing is much easier to publish in digital format, such as ebooks or blogs, it’s better for the planet, takes up less space, and can reach anyone in the world instantly. Ideas spread faster digitally.

After all, nature will still be there. I can still read on a porch while watching the sun set, and each book will still change my life because while the format may change, the essence doesn’t.

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi! Found your blog through Averies’. Beautiful!

    Yes, I adore books…I would love to just write for a living (I think) – but getting published is nearly but a dream…:(…I’ve thought about on-line or self-publishing, but not sure how effective (cost-wise and publicity) that is either. It would be sad to see bookstores diminish however…

Leave a Reply

