Learning to be Happy: Part 1

Sometimes I feel silly talking about happiness, because I’m still figuring it out myself. We often think of happiness as something to find or that happens to us. We tell ourselves “I’d be happy if I got rich” or “I’ll be happy when I lose 20 pounds, or get married, or get a new job.”

I caught myself thinking like that yesterday, that my happiness depends on things outside myself.  Then I thought, “Why can’t I learn to be happy, no matter what my situation?” If we can learn to read, write, drive, function in society, than why can’t we learn to be happy? It seems so simple, but I know it’s not.

I’ve waited too long for happiness to just happen to me and thinking something could “make” me happy. I’ve got to go after it myself.

…starting with a smile. I’ve heard that the act of smiling can actually make one happy, so this morning while I put away dishes, I smiled.

And you know what? I felt really good.

McKella

Posted on September 8, 2010, in Happiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love the smile trick! It works everytime 🙂

    And I love how you made the realization that you have to go and chase happiness, it doesnt just happen. Its a choice we make.

  1. Pingback: Learning to be Happy: Part 2 | Handprint Soul

  2. Pingback: Happiness Project: Mindfulness | Handprint Soul

Leave a Reply

