Five good things

I’m visiting my family today, but I thought I’d share a trick I use to stay optimistic, recognized blessings in my life, and keep my perspective. I used to do this every day, and I decided I need to start again.

Every night before I go to sleep, I write down five good things that happened that day. If  it was a rough day, I write ten. Sometimes more.

If you want, keep a separate journal for these and read through them if you really need a boost. Doing, I’ve found that no matter how bad I think my life sucks that day, I can always find the good, even if it was a pretty sky or something silly one of the kids did.

It’s only noon here in Utah, but here are my five so far:

1- I managed to fit 20 minutes of exercise while breakfast was in the morning.

2-I finished that funny children’s book I’ve been reading. Now I get to read something else!

3- The drive down the canyon was beautiful.

4- I got to listen to Ender’s Game with Sam in the car. It’s becoming one of my new favorites.

5- I’m visiting my family in my hometown today.

And the day’s only going to get better.

Can you think of five good things that happened today?

Posted on September 11, 2010, in Gratitude, Happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great idea! I’m going to do this too. Especially on the negative days 🙂

Leave a Reply

