Happiness Project: Mindfulness

Wow, it’s Monday already! I hope everyone had an awesome weekend, because I sure did.

This past week, I worked on being more mindful as part of my Happiness Project. If you’re a new reader, check out these links:

Learning to be Happy parts 1, 2, and 3

My Happiness Project: Health

My mindful guidelines:

  • Be here now: I think everyone who isn’t a Buddhist monk has a hard time with this, because our minds are spinning out of control and we’re always thinking about everything except where we are and what we’re doing right now. For me, this usually means worrying about the future and wishing for the past. This week, I made an effort to rein in my thoughts. When I started to stress out about money, I pulled my mind back to the present and focused on what I was reading. I tried to pay attention to each bite of food I put in my mouth and describe it to myself. What does the sky look like today? How warm is it? Are the leaves any redder than they were yesterday?
  • Sing like I mean it- To be honest, I kind of forgot about this one. I took voice lessons for years, but I quit and now my voice is in pretty bad shape, but singing is such a freeing thing. However, last night at my family’s house, I did decide to play my little brother’s guitar and sing Alanis Morrisette’s “Ironic” at the top of my lungs. By the way, I’ve never played guitar in my life. My husband was pretty amused and there’s probably a video on the internet somewhere.
  • Keep better track of spending- Also, still need to work on this. I  check my account every day and keep a general total in my head, but I really need to write everything down. I used to be a stickler for checkbook balancing, budgeting and coupon clipping. No need to be extreme, but I need a little more discipline.
  • Honor my emotions- By this, I mean not using food to handle emotions, but to embrace them. Also, not feeling bad about the way I feel (wrap your brain around that one for a second, but that’s what I do) I stopped to think about what I was doing before I dove into the M&M bowl I hide in our room.  I write about what I’m feeling, gush to my aunt and cousin, and take breaks when I need them. Surprisingly, I don’t feel anywhere near as overwhelmed as I did a week ago.
  • Limit screen time- I started off trying to limit computer time to 45 minutes a day, but I realized I don’t waste much time on the internet watching videos or playing games. I spend a lot of time researching and reading useful information, writing, promoting my blog, networking, etc. I did limit the idle time watching videos and stuff like that, but now I’m much more mindful off what I’m doing on the computer and I realize it’s not a bad thing.

Though I wasn’t perfect, I feel I made significant progress this week, at least with managing my emotions and living now. Now just for managing my money…

Next week: Attitude

Attitude:

Decide to have fun

-Dress nicely. And shower every day.

-Don’t let myself off the hook

Act the way I want to feel

Posted on September 27, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I like it that you said, “I realized I don’t waste much time on the internet watching videos or playing games. I spend a lot of time researching and reading useful information, writing, promoting my blog, networking, etc.”

    This is so true, plus I work online as my job, so I have to be on the computer and I want to be too.

    The reason I point this out is because I am constantly reading from other bloggers to turn off the computer and stay away from it. Now I’m wondering how they expect me to read their blog if I’ve turned my computer off 🙂

    It’s just nice to hear you say this because it is contrary to what other’s are saying and I agree with you. I love to read and learn new things and get my job done. I’m not much of one to waste time on the Internet. And I suspect that those who do waste time on the Internet likely waste it in other areas of their life, but then that’s all personal preference for how to use one’s time. I’m not going to be one to judge.

    Thank you!

    • Not all screen time is wasted time as long as it’s not your whole life. What’s the difference between reading important stuff on a scree and reading it in a book? Now instead of thinking “I’m on the internet” I think “I’m reading.”

  2. love Act the Way I want to Feel. So simple but so revolutionary!

  3. One thing I found incredibly useful for tracking financial transactions is mint.com. If you use online banking, it can be a lifesaver, and you can even set up savings goals. I know it doesn’t work for everyone, but I love it.

Leave a Reply

