Spending out

(source)

Hi, I’m McKella and I am a tightwad.

Not that that’s a bad thing. I’m very frugal and it’s helped me a lot over the years, but sometimes I toe the line between frugal and downright cheap.

For example, I don’t have health insurance. I’m four months overdue for my annual checkup, I haven’t been to the dentist in three years and I use each pair of contacts much longer than recommended.

Spend out is another rule borrowed from Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project. I didn’t include it in my original happiness rules because…well, I really don’t know. Maybe I was afraid, or I didn’t think I had a problem. So I’ve decided to spend out and just cough it up for the things I need that I’ve been putting off.

  • Go to the freaking doctor.
  • Replace my running shoes
  • Look into getting health insurance.
  • Get a few new shirts- a bunch of mine are getting holey and threadbare.
  • Razor cartridges
  • Order new contacts
  • Get a dental exam

Also, yesterday I purchased something I’ve never had before: real workout clothes. We’re talking that nice DryWic stuff and clothes that were made for actually exercising instead of ratty t shirts and cutoff sweats. And you know what? I think I worked out harder, I felt stronger.

Buy the things you need .You’re worth it. However, recognize the difference between wants and needs. My wants list:

  • iPhone- would be awesome and practical, but I have a perfectly functional Samsung Solstice
  • Nicer Camera- the one I have isn’t great. Actually, it’s pretty lousy, but funds don’t allow right now, and I’m not a food blogger or anything so I don’t actually need it right now.
  • A mountain bike- don’t have time to use it like I’d like to, and winter’s on the way.

Don’t be cheap. Take care of yourself first. You deserve to be healthy, secure, and happy, so use good judgment and put your money into those areas.

Posted on September 28, 2010, in Exercise, Happiness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you!

    I’m in the same boat for dental work. Something like 80% of my required work is covered by benefits but I avoid it nonetheless. A combination of pain (wisdom teeth need to come out and a few fillings) plus that 20% payment holds me back. It’s quite ridiculous actually 🙂

  2. Yes, I do the same thing with my contacts. They do last longer than they advise. But I’ve got to get in for an exam next week and get some new ones!

Leave a Reply

