Autumn Pumpkin-Pecan Bread and Attitude

I don’t feel like dedicating an entire post to my attitude today, so I’ll give you a quick summary of what I’ve worked on this week, plus a treat 🙂

For the past two weeks, I’ve been working on improving my attitude toward my job, my body, my limits, and my life by following these guidelines:

Dress nicely. And shower every day. It’s amazing what not feeling like a sweaty mess can do for your confidence and energy.

-Don’t let myself off the hook. Exercise anyway. Write every day. “I don’t feel like it” isn’t an excuse, and I’ll be glad I did later.

-Decide to have fun- Don’t be a party pooper, and don’t assume something is going to be lame just because it doesn’t sound amazing. Try it anyway.

Act the way I want to feel

The first week of this was inexplicably rough for some reason, but the past week was amazing. I had energy to do my job and I didn’t feel like I was going to faint by noon on Friday. I’ve been smiling more, laughing more, and worrying less. Attitude really is everything, more than anything I’ve done so far with my Happiness Project.

Ok, time for the goodies. Behold, the year’s first pumpkin delicacy:

To read my thoughts on real food, click here.

Autumn Pumpkin-Pecan Bread

1-3/4 C whole wheat or spelt flour

3/4 C sweetener of your choice. I used honey, but you could use maple syrup, rapadura, sugar, brown sugar, whatever floats your boat.

1-1/2 t cinnamon

1 t nutmeg

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 baking powder

1/2 t salt

sprinkle of cloves and ginger

2 eggs

1 C pumpkin

1/2 C oil (I used extra-virgin coconut oil, but you can use whatever you want.)

1/3 C milk or water

1/2 C chopped pecans, more or less to your liking

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the dry ingredients, add the wet ingredients and mix together, then add the pecans. Pour into a loaf pan and sprinkle more pecans on top for pretties. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

Devour.

 

Posted on October 11, 2010, in Food, Stress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

