What a freaking week

I’m relishing the first time I’ve gotten to be be lazy on my couch all week.

I know I’m still getting the hang of blogging and being completely authentic to my readers. (All eight of you reading this…:) so get ready for all the authenticity you can handle.

Some days, I hate my life. Nearly every day this week, I’ve thought about telling my aunt I’m done nannying, and how writing just isn’t happening lately, how my sense of purpose is in the toilet and how I’m sick of being 15 or so pounds above my happy weight. I’m also sick of pretending I’ve got it all together.

To make a really long story short, I’ve actually made progress this week both on the intuitive eating front and in learning to take life as it comes. I’ve started keeping a food/mood journal according to the guidelines on Christie’s blog and I’ve probably been more mindful of my food and my body than I have during the past two years of trying to practice intuitive eating. I’ve also decided that this is where I need to be, taking care of my six cousins and helping my aunt even though it’s the hardest job I’ve ever had. I’ve also felt more like myself than I have  in years because I got my no-kid-stick removed (aka, hormonal birth control)

I’ve  barely had time to shower this week, let alone write, but I have journaled, and I think that’s what got me through. Good ol’ journal, I could never live without you. Seeing how this is an authenticity blog and all, I’ve decided to kill two flies with one swatter and overlap my blogging and journaling a bit, not only because that’s the only way I’ll get ’em both done, but because my journal is the real me. Handprint Soul is the real me. This is the real me.

Posted on October 23, 2010, in Authenticity, Stress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. One of the best things I’ve done for my body was have the hormone stick removed.

    I’m sorry you’ve had a rough week but I’m glad you made it through.

  2. Glad you are making progress, I always love to hear that!

  3. Never apologize for being authentic in your own space. This is your blog. You say what you want. Don’t apologize for authenticity.

  4. Hey, I just found your blog through Balancing Val, through Honoring Health, through getfitslowly. At least, I think that’s how I got here.

    The first thing I did when I got here was to read your about page, and I hate to admit it, but my first thought was that you were rather young and you would blab on and on. Apparently I really need to work on making snap judgments. But, I love your blog. It seems that the changes you are making in your life is where I would like to be, you just woke up and did it a lot earlier than I did (which is AWESOME!).

    So now you have 9 readers, and I can’t wait to hear more about the real you. 🙂

    • Thanks for reading Audrey! I’m glad you like it, and sometimes I do worry that I blab on and on. We all need to work on the snap judgment thing. We’re human.

Leave a Reply

