Finding your happy place

“Find a happy place…find a happy place!” do these words cross your mind at the dentist’s office, during finals week, or while stuck in traffic? No? Maybe it’s just me then.

The point is that sometimes when life gets insane and we feel like jumping off the nearest bridge, a “happy place”, whether it’s an actual place or or somewhere in our minds, can bring us back to a place of balance. You can even have a variety of happy places if you want.

I found my happy place this week. It’s being curled up on a comfy couch in front of a sunny window, reading a good book with some cuddly animal asleep in my lap. Any couch, window, book or animal will do. This week it’s been the love seat in my studio apartment, looking out the window at the yellowing leaves on the quaking aspens in the yard with my cat Louka flopped over my lap.

Last sunday, my happy place was a couch in my friend’s basement snuggling with his Vizsla, Kai even though she was totally hogging the cushions.

Sometimes it’s my parents’ couch with Maya the Shih tzu, or the couch downstairs with my cousin’s kitten, Meeko. No matter what’s been going on the rest of the day, my happy place never fails.

What’s your happy place?

Posted on November 4, 2010, in Happiness, Stress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Lately it’s been curled up on my couch with a full unread google reader, coffee and morning tv shows with no work in sight 🙂

  2. Hey there,

    I just found your blog. I am going back and reading the archives. 🙂 You have me hooked!

    ~ Catherine

  3. i echo your thoughts. someone inside my head screams too, ” find your happy place” . i love the look of your blog. i am going back to read archives now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

