Evolving Handprint Lists

I’ll keep this short, because that beautiful spring weather outside is calling my name! Perfect weather for a nice run, concluded with barefoot walking through the park, don’t you think? I think.

If you’ve read Handprint Soul for awhile, you know all about the Handprint List. You might have even made one of your own, which is awesome. I made mine last summer right after I graduated college and started to wonder what I wanted to do with my life. I always had a good idea of what I wanted, but I felt like I needed something more specific. As an obsessive list-maker, I made a list.

However, that was last summer and this was a year of huge change for me. Reading back over my Handprint List, I realized that I wanted to add a few things. I also wanted to remove a couple things. For example, I don’t want to be vegan anymore. Various reasons, but basically it just doesn’t work for me and I’m not going to do anything my body doesn’t like. Also, I no longer care about skydiving, learning to play chess, or going back and learning to use a pottery wheel. I’m a completely different person than I was last summer, and I have a much clearer idea of what I want to do in my life, so I’m trimming away the stuff that doesn’t interest me anymore.

You’re always changing, so your Handprint List should change to reflect that. It’s an evolving, fluid thing that grows with you and shapes as you shape yourself. Don’t get bogged down in a bunch of static expectations and “To-do’s” that no longer sing to you. Add things to your list. Cross off the things you don’t want to do anymore.

I’ll be updating my list little-by-little over the next few weeks as I refine it. It’ll mostly be the same, just a few more specifics and without some of the frivolous things.

If you haven’t made a Handprint List, I really encourage you too. You can either email me and I’ll feature it in a special page on the blog, or post it on your own site and send me the link. I’d love to see it!

And now, for that run…

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Handprint List and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s true. I made my List of things to do before I die, and I cross things off that no longer interest me or entice me. But, Skydiving is one of the most fun things I have ever done in my life. So I think you should reconsider. 😉 hahah.

    • Meh, I crossed that one off for the same reason I don’t like amusement parks as much as I used to. Too overstimulating, stressful, all that stuff. Too intense!

  2. What a great approach to lists! this is something I may go ahead and make once I get out of college too!

Leave a Reply

