Fear of the Unknown

(source)

Do you ever feel like you’re getting in over your head? Or that you’re finally coming into a dream you’ve always had but you’re scared stupid because the journey is a little treacherous?

I feel like that right now. And I believe it’s a good thing.ย 

I found an incredible piece of wisdom last week:

“Fear is just excitement with the brakes on.”Maria Forleo

How perfect is that? I think we can all tell the difference between fear of danger and fear of the unknown. It’s the different between the fear you experience when someone almost hits you in traffic and the nervous excitement before boarding a plane to somewhere you’ve never been.

I’ve experienced creative fear before, but this is entirely new because I’m moving into the unknown. It’s not a fear of not getting what I want, it’s the fear of getting what I want and not being able to handle it, or not being worthy of it. I have no idea what I’m doing and I’m figuring it out as I go.

Everyone goes through a time like this I hope, because it’s a sign of growth. I thought I’d share a few tips I’ve learned about getting through:

  • Have a guide. Find a mentor or a coach to point you in the right direction and provide support. I can’t tell you how valuable it is, because it’s like having someone to hold your hand as you walk through a dark maze.
  • Take baby steps. Stepping out of your comfort zone is part of the game, but if you get too overwhelmed you’ll freeze. Grow in little bits at a time.
  • Take care of yourself, love yourself, be your own best friend. Believing in yourself is the most important thing you can do.
  • Remember, you deserve it. Everyone deserves to be happy, and whatever is coming is meant to make you happy. Receive it with grace.
Enjoy your weekend!
McKella
Posted on May 27, 2011, in Goals, Stress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful post, my beautiful friend ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think we have a lot in common and are both in a similar place as far as building our own dreams and having all the emotions that come along with it.

    Its comforting to know!

    What are you trying to accomplish in the future and what are your fears? Ill tell you mine if you tell me yours ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Shoot me an email, id love to hear!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

