Soul Writing Tips

 

(Source)

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. Actually, I’ve always been a writer. Short stories, poetry, a play, magazine articles, travel writing, blogging, you name it. I’m even editing my first novel. Sometimes about pouring myself out on the page feels so right to me. My thoughts flow better with a pen in my hand.

I thought I’d share part of my Relief Society lesson from yesterday. Relief Society is a women’s organization in my religion that meets every Sunday during church. We discussed one of the steps of a church sponsored addiction recovery program, which is to truthfully write about our lives so we can better understand our struggles and their roots. This recovery program suggests writing your life story from start to finish so you can see patterns in the big picture.

Wow.

I’ve kept a journal for years, and it’s been my go-to tool for getting to the bottom of what ails me. I have a plastic tote box under my bed full of my journals from high school on, and another shelf in my studio groaning under the weight of my “commonplace books” which also serve as journals. Writing is a fabulous tool, and different writers can use it in different ways for different purposes.  It’s wonderful for exploring and understanding emotions and the events that cause them, and using that knowledge to overcome depression, fear, addiction, etc.

Here are a few reasons why writing is an awesome soul-searching tool:

  • Sometimes expressing our feelings through writing is the first step to letting go of them.
  • Writing allows us to distance ourselves from the situations so that we can see them in a more objective way, and therefore figure them out.
  • Writing gives us a safe place in which to say things we’d be afraid to say otherwise. Afraid someone will read it? Burn it. Flush it. Bury it. The act of destroying the writings is healing in itself.
  • Writing forces us to slow down our thoughts, because we write slower than our thoughts. Slowing down gives us the time to actually examine out thoughts.
  • Writing allows us to organize our thoughts.

Many of us (especially bloggers!) have used writing to clarify our emotions at some point. Here are some tips to help you get started on your Soul Journaling:

  • Find a safe place to keep your words, whether it’s a journal that you hide in a safe box or something, an online journal or pieces of paper that get thrown in the fireplace as soon as you’re done.
  •   Write in the third person if you need some extra distance from your life in order to see more clearly.
  • Do it every day. I carry a Mead notebook with my everywhere to jot down ideas, but also to explore a difficult situation  if I need to .
  • Ask “why?” If a certain event triggered a reaction to something, ask yourself “why?” If something makes you uncomfortable or brings out your obsessive tendencies, ask “why?”
  • Dig deeper, get to the roots. It’s scary, but you can’t fix a problem if you don’t understand it. If you feel inferior around certain people, write down the exact emotions you feel around them. Have you felt that way before? When? Why? When you get to the bottom, ask yourself what you really want. Do you feel  inferior because that person seems more exciting and has more friends than you? Maybe you want to feel loved, or to manifest more fun in your life.
  • Dig yourself back out. When you get to the bottom of your emotions and discover what you want, ask yourself how you can get what you want. Say you want to feel loved, and you want to have more fun in your life. How can you manifest more fun and love? How can you give  more love, so that you’ll attract it back to you?
  • Read. Writing honestly takes a lot of practice because most people have difficulty recognizing uncomfortable emotions because they’re so used to shunning them or covering them with food or another addiction. I’ve found that reading the honest writing of others, whether it’s blogs, scriptures, or other inspiring books is a great way to loosen up. If we see those emotions in others, we learn to see them in ourselves. Talking with a counselor or trusted friend can also help. Learn to feel your emotions, get in touch with them.
This is a scary project, whether you plan to write your life story or just deal with each struggle as it pops up. Writing is different for everyone, so experiment and see what works best for you, and keep that tool in your arsenal at all times. Good luck!
McKella
Posted on June 6, 2011, in Authenticity, Creativity, Happiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I LOVE to write.

    And I mean actually write, like with pen and paper.

    There’s something about filling up pages with beautiful penmanship that just jive me.

    I love taking notes in class too.

    Lately I’ve been carrying a journal with me just to write out my feelings deep down to the core and its really helped me uncover a lot of things I never knew about myself!

Leave a Reply

