Thank you Dad

Happy Father’s Day! Last month, I thanked my mom for all her awesomeness, but now it’s time to thank my equally incredible Dad.

1-Thank you Dad for working so hard to keep a roof over my head and food in my belly, while still finding time to take me fishing.

2-Thank you for always making the best spaghetti, burgers, salsa, and steaks I’ve ever had.

Yes, that would be me lovin' some b'sketti.

3-Thank you for growing the most amazing vegetables and letting me raid your garden and chicken coop every time I visit.

4- Thank you for endowing me with your blue eyes, artistic talent and off-kilter sense of humor.

5-Thank you for teaching to love Jim Henson, The Three Stooges, Benny Hill, and The Beatles.

6-Thank you for teaching me to work hard, be respectful and pick my battles, and that a sense of humor is one the greatest coping tools a person can have.

Especially when we get rained out of Disney World.

7-Thank you for faithfully reading every blog post I’ve ever written, liking nearly every Facebook update, and believing in me even when I don’t.

8-Thank you for saying I’m still your little girl even though I’m well into my 20’s.

9-Thank you for making me laugh all the time and for getting my weird brand up humor. ‘Cause it’s just like yours.

10-Thank you for trying to teach me to drive a stick shift. Sorry it didn’t work 🙂

11-Thank you for striking the perfect balance between protecting me and letting me grow.

12-Thank you for going with us to Disney World and stuff like that, even though you’d rather be fishing.

13-Thank you for being my best friend. I know I’ve said that Mom and Sam are my best friends, but you’re my best friend too, because you’re my dad.

I love you Daddy!

Posted on June 18, 2011, in Gratitude, Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

