Painting-Lovers in Autumn

This is one of my all-time  favorite paintings. I painted it before I started blogging about painting, so I wanted to tell you about it. Over the next little while, I’ll also do a few posts on the paintings in my shop that I haven’t written about yet. They’re all significant artifacts of my life, they deserve to have their stories told.

Four years ago this month, Sam asked me to marry him. As I sat on Santa’s lap and told him what I wanted for Christmas (guess what?) Sam dropped to one knee and presented a Ring-Pop with my gorgeous engagement ring on top.

We didn’t have any money, so we joked that he’d have to propose with a Ring-Pop. Yes, I ate it afterward. And my actual ring tasted like grape.

That’s a cute story, but it started with the preceding autumn.

I love how the light changes with the seasons, and I remember the light of that autumn was very gold. Everything glowed during that time. Every night, the sunset lit the sky on fire.

That’s how it always is when you fall in love.

24X30 Acrylic on Canvas

This piece is available for purchase here.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Art, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

