Painting-Contemplative

Modern life requires us to go fast. Rush from errand to errand, work hard, play hard, sweat at the gym, crunch those numbers, go go go!

We all know the importance of rest (who wouldn’t crash  after all of that?) but sometimes we neglect the need to contemplate.

I painted this in August, but I haven’t talked about it here yet. In fact, this is the first piece I ever painted with the intention to sell.

"Contemplative" acrylic on canvas 24"X24"

Back when the grass was green and I still lived in tee shirts and cargo shorts, one of my favorite things to do was to walk to the park down the street, cozy up to one of the trees and watch the world around me while I processed my thoughts and fished for ideas. Sunset was my favorite time to do this.

I was always amazed at the thoughts that would run through my head as I sat under that sky. Everything from “That is the most vibrant pink I have ever seen” to “I hope my kids aren’t into sports-I wouldn’t know what to do” to “I want to paint the sun.”

I’d always bring an notebook or a sketchbook, but most of the time I’d just think.  Just thinking is one of my favorite things to do, and I find that it’s a critical part of my artistic process (aka My Life). It’s how I recharge, it’s how I refine ideas to the point that I can start making them real.

I also get some great thinking done in the car, but that’s not nearly as fun to paint.

This piece is available for purchase here.

Where’s your thinking place?

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Art, Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

