Accepting Limits and a Sneak Peek

So my Internet has been patchy lately, and this post is brought to you by my iPhone. I’ll keep it quick, because I’ve got a lot to do today.

I’m hoping to finish my latest painting today, and it feels like forever since I’ve finished anything. I completed my last painting in November, and that was the only piece I finished that month. It was huge, but nothing compared to the one or two paintings I chugged out every week in August and September.

I’ve accepted that winter is my less creative and energetic time, but sometimes it’s hard to cut myself some slack when I need to. I think this is true of most people. We feel guilty for taking breaks or spending more time reading than making stuff even if that’s what we really feel like doing. We confuse limits with laziness and interpret needs as weakness.

That kind of thinking doesn’t serve us. I’m ok with this one painting, even though I’d intended to finish at least three in December. I feel like this is quality work that reflects the internal shift I feel when the seasons change as well as a new element I’m going to include in my work for awhile.

With that said, I thought I’d give you a little sneak peek:

20120104-084709.jpg

20120104-084753.jpg

20120104-084831.jpg

I’ll post this either tomorrow of Friday!

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Art, Happiness, Stress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I totally agree with everything you just said. Being an artist is so hard because it’s completely self motivated and it seems like there just aren’t enough hours in the day. Plus we are always our own worst critic.

    Your work is awesome and I love the honesty in your blog.

    Alyssa

    • Thank you Alyssa! It’s difficult being the employer, employee and critic all at the same time! I think it works best when things flow naturally, but it takes some practice to get there.

Leave a Reply

