Beautiful Winter

If you’ve been reading Handprint Soul for more than a day or two, you know that I’m not the biggest fan of winter. In fact, this is the time of year when I usually begin my annual “daffodil mope,” where I feel dead and gray inside until the first daffodils pop up and fill me with hope.

I have to admit though, winter can be pretty sometimes. Though I much prefer sunshine, flowers, and green grass, it’s hard not to appreciate the silver and blue palette of winter.

I woke up to the first decent snowfall we’ve had all year, and I decided to get outside for a tromp through our famous Utah powder before it melted off the tree branches.

I love the way snow looks when it clings to the branches. It makes my neighborhood look like Narnia.

It just goes to show that there’s beauty in everything, even and especially the uncomfortable things.

 

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Nature, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Though its heard to bear the cold winter, I love the snowfall. It’s so beautiful watch them all around.

  2. LOVELY! I ADORE seeing people noticing the beauty in everyday life, especially that of which they are not so fond 😉

    – s

  3. you are right – beauty is everywhere. thanks for the pictures, and for letting me enjoy snow where you are and not where i am!

  4. Beautiful photos McKella…if it’s going to be cold…it may as well snow! ~Sherry~

Leave a Reply

