Check in on Intentions for 2012

We’re already a month into 2012, and by now we may have started to let our intentions fall by the wayside as we go about our busy lives. I thought I’d check in on my intentions for 2012, to see how things are going, and I encourage you to do the same. Checking in on ourselves is a part of living consciously and making positive changes.

So, how am I doing?

  • I intend to let my creative spirit be my leader: I’m learning to stop “juggling” my different roles and responsibilities, and instead, integrate all areas of my life-job, creative work, religion, homemaking-I’m not switching hats anymore. I try to be my creative self in all areas of my life, and it’s challenging, but it’s wonderful for keeping my priorities straight.
  • I intend to lay the foundation for my art and writing career: I haven’t been incredibly productive in the studio lately, but I am clarifying the steps I need to take. I’m also experimenting and playing with different techniques and elements to include in my work and different directs I want to take it.
  • I intend to honor my body with the food and movement it needs: This one is a challenge, because adjusting to my new schedule is a little stressful, and I tend to default to food when I’m stressed, especially in the winter when I crave carbs and sugar anyway. However, I am keeping a food journal a few days a week to track bring some consciousness back to my eating, and I’m experimenting with alternative sweeteners like stevia and xylitol, because they are much easier on me than sugar. I’m also making more time to bundle up for daily walks.
  • I intend to dive into my gospel study: I’ve been reading my scriptures nearly every morning, which is a nice way to start my day. I’ve also put more effort into clearing my mind during church so I can focus on the lessons rather than planning my week. This is still hard for me, because I tend to zone out during lectures and sermons of any sort, but I’m getting better.
  • I intend to use my money consciously and deliberately: This is a big one, and I’ve been much better at keeping track of our spending and putting more thought into purchases. I’ve been using the 10 second rule, and trying to use the 30 day rule, though the near-death of my netbook required a hasty purchase of a new computer. We put in some research and got a MacBook Pro to suit my art and writing needs, and I’m quite happy with it so far.

All in all, I feel that I’ve done very well with my intentions for this year, and in keeping my Word for 2012, Stability, in mind as I shape my life.

How are you doing? Did you set intentions for 2012?

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you have got your priorities straight…thanks for sharing!

    – s

Leave a Reply

