Painting: Galaxies Inside 2

My paintings always surprise me because they almost never turn out the way I plan them. I may go in with a plan or an idea that I want to express, but somewhere in the process, that idea changes. Once I finish, I realize that whatever the painting ended up saying was what I needed to express all along.

24X36 Acrylic on Canvas

This painting was no exception. We had a few springy days and I felt my soul stirring. I planned on painting something very gold, warm looking with lots of movement in energy. I wanted to paint hope and excitement. As the painting got away from me as they always do, it grew more white. It looked more calm than I’d wanted it to. It was misty and cold rather than warm and vibrant.

That’s how it had to be though.

After I realized that I needed to be sitting under that tree, I realized that this piece is about patience and faith as we allow things to pass.

Sometimes, the best thing to do it wait. Understand that things pass. Remember that spring comes each year. Observe things as they happen, but don’t let them sink into our hearts. Sometimes detachment is the healthiest thing in the world.

This is the second piece in the Galaxies Inside series. This piece is available for purchase here.

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Art, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful! I agree about “detachment”!

Leave a comment