What do you need to be happy?

Last year, I spent a lot of time reconnecting with my creativity and getting in touch with my values and desires. I often asked myself what my ideal life would look like, which was a valuable exercise for me at the time. It still is. Allowing ourselves to dream big is the first step to reaching our goals.

I’d write about this in my journal, and I’d allow myself to dream big, to break down walls in my mind and allow myself to see what I really wanted, what I needed to try to accomplish. I reached a place where those things didn’t feel so out of reach anymore. It did wonders for my confidence and really helped me to see myself as the creative being that I am.

I tried it again just now, just to reassess and see where I am.

What does my ideal life look like?

The answer surprised me. Instead of the grand career, the world travel, and the huge accomplishments, I thought hard and came up with a few key ingredients:

  • I want to spend a lot of time nurturing and expressing my creativity,
  • I want to connect with my family and friends. Not even a lot of friends, but a few good ones. I want to feel real connection with people.
  • I want to be healthy and feel good about myself. Neither one depends on the other, but they tend to come together.
  • I want to have adventures, whether they’re big ones like traveling abroad, or little ones like exploring a new hiking trail or trying a new vegetable this week.

The nice thing is that every single one of those is completely within my power, no matter what my circumstances.These things don’t depend on success or money, they don’t depend on approval or validation or permission from anyone else.

At first, this question helped me see the possibilities, now it helps me see my own power and the value of now. It helps me to see that I don’t need to put my happiness on hold for “when”.

What does your ideal life look like?

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Authenticity, Goals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Strange, we know what it takes to be happy and still how we need to be reminded every now and then. This one is my reminder and I am going to write about my ideal life in what I call ‘My Happiness Diary’ today.

    Nice post 🙂

Leave a Reply

