Signs of Spring

I visited my family this past weekend and while I was out gathering eggs from my dad’s chickens, I noticed that something in the air felt different. I recognized it.

Even though there was still snow on the ground and my ears were numb from the cold, I swear I could smell spring. Winter isn’t just about the cold or darkness, I always feel like something in the air is missing. Everything feels dead to me. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the air is definitely different in the spring and summer. I’ve felt it a few times over the last two weeks, and each time it fills me up with tingly, bubbly joy. I feel like laughing and crying at once. I feel like I’m getting something that I’ve been deprived of for a long time, something I didn’t realize I was starving for. I never notice when that magic in the air fades away, but I notice when it comes back.

I saw green things for the first time in months.

This is exactly how I feel in the spring.

Posted on March 9, 2012, in Nature, Seasons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love your site. You have some great insight and some real creativity. I love what you have to say about perfectionism. I’m becoming a follower, and I’m going to suggest that my daughter do the same. She needs a regular dose of your truthful encouragement.

Leave a Reply

