Talking Back to Fears

If you’ve follow me on Facebook or Twitter (hint hint) you know that I’ve recently submitted two of my pieces to a juried show. This is the Spring Salon at the Springville Museum of Art, which is one of the biggest juried shows in Utah. Nearly two-thirds of the entries don’t actually make it into the show, so it’s fairly competitive. Years ago, I actually had a piece in their state high school show, which is almost as competitive, and even won a prize, so I’m crossing my fingers to get into this one.

This is actually my first attempt at a real juried show, and it’s quite nerve wracking. One of my favorite artists, Brian Kershisnik, actually won this show last year. I feel like I’m playing with the big kids now. I’ve had all kinds of thoughts running through my head, some helpful and some not so much.

What do you think you’re doing? You’re not a real artist. This show is for real artists. 

Do you really think you’re going to get in? You’ve seen this show, it’s incredible! How could you hang your work on the same walls?

They’re going to look at your work and think and think it’s kitschy or something. It’s cute. It’s imperfect and they’ll see right through you. 

Just don’t even bother entering that show. Save yourself some disappointment and try again when you’re a real artist. 

Just for fun, I even had another destructive thought while typing these: Do you really think it’s a good idea to expose these thoughts to your readers? You  need to appear confident and fearless. No one will take you or your work seriously if they know that you think these thoughts. 

Interesting, huh? And yes I do think it’s a good idea to admit to these thoughts. Every artist has them. Every person has them. I’ve written about fear quite a bit on this blog, because it’s something that I experience a lot, and it’s held me back in the past. I’ve also learned to recognize it and talk back to it. I’m not perfect at it, but if I can learn to talk back to my fears, anyone can.

Who says I’m not a real artist? Of course I am! I make art, people like it, and people even buy it sometimes. Sure, I’m not a full time artist yet, but I am most certainly now and have always been an artist. 

My work is as good as anyone else’s. If I don’t get into the show, that means that the judges didn’t connect with it, not that it isn’t good. I’m fully confident in the quality of my work. 

I’m young and inexperienced, but I need to start somewhere. I’ve spent a lot of time at this museum and I feel very comfortable here, so this is a good place to start. 

Not everyone will like my work, and that’s ok. I don’t make art to please everyone. I make it to connect with the people who will connect with it. Everyone who doesn’t will connect with something else and won’t need my work. That’s fine with me. Most people who see it tell me they love it. If they don’t, oh well. 

A lot of other amazing artist entering this show are probably thinking the same things. Especially the first timers like me. 
 

So Saturday afternoon, despite the demons whispering fears into my mind, Sam and I took Galaxies Inside 1 and 2 down to the museum. Now I’m waiting. It’s worse than waiting for the cast list of any show I’ve ever auditioned for, because this is a beginning. If I get in, and I truly believe I have a decent shot, this show will be a solid line on my resume. I’ll have approval from the actual art world. If I don’t, it just wasn’t the right time, place, or piece. Or the judges just didn’t connect.

We’ll see.

Housekeeping: For the time being, Galaxies Inside 1 and 2 will be unavailable for purchase, but they’ll be available if/when I get them back.

I’m also going on a trip this week and I may blog from my phone, but I may choose to completely unplug for the rest of the week. Sometimes that is very necessary.

Have a wonderful spring week!

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Art, Fear and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congrats on entering your pieces. They are beautiful.

    My ex was an artist and I remember seeing how nerve-wracking and hard it was for him to enter those first few juried shows.

    However, once he got into a few and began to see his worth as an artist—the process became wonderful for him.

    Good luck, and be proud of what you’ve done!

  2. You Go Girl and Knock Your Fears Right Over – Beautiful, Breathtaking Art!!! Thanks for sharing! Have a Great Week – put sandals on for the 1st time today – YAY!!!

  3. what a beautiful painting – you really captured the emotion!

  1. Pingback: Hacking the Artist’s Brian: Overwhelming feeling of Creativity « Hacking Life Strategies

Leave a Reply

