New Painting: Let Your Mind be Free

It’s good to be back! I had a fabulous time in California. I got to spend some great time with my family and I got a lot of much-needed thinking and soul-searching done. A twelve hour car ride each way will do that. I’ll write about my trip sometime in the next week or two when I can get the photos ready.

I’m so excited to show you what I’ve been working on lately!

Most of my paintings are fairly large. The smallest one in the shop right now is 24X24. I love making large paintings, but lately I’ve bene having a great time making smaller paintings.

I started doing the smaller paintings to experiment with different ideas and techniques to use in larger paintings, and also because the smaller ones allow me to play with more ideas than I could with the big ones alone because they don’t take as long to make.

It started as creative playtime, just playing with different ideas, but I loved the results so much that I decided to post them! I know a lot of people don’t have room/money for large art, so this is a great way to allow more people to own original art. I believe art should be for everyone.

I have quite a few to post with more in the making, so you can expect to see more items added to the shop. I’ll post each one on the blog as well. These will be added to a new “Small painting” section of the shop. All items in this section will be 16×20 or smaller, and many will be on thin-framed, back-stapled canvas or canvas board. There may also be some work on my usual thick-framed, gallery-wrapped canvas.

I’ll still be creating large work as well, but I’m excited to play with these new small paintings!

I’ll leave you with this one today:

11x14 acrylic and paper on canvas

Sometimes, we get stuck in thought patterns and habits that don’t serve us. They keep us in the same old issues, the same fears, the same blocks. We forget that we can change them. We can set our minds free with new ideas and new thoughts. We can recognize those old grooves and try something new. We can be free.

This painting is acrylic on canvas with words handwritten on collaged bits of paper. I also incorporated some stamping in the orbs behind the tree. I love using lots of paint on the stamps because it leaves behind a beautiful ridged texture, like the veins in leaves.

This painting is available for purchase here.

Stay tuned for more paintings this week!

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

