Two Spring Paintings

One of my favorite parts of spring is the gorgeous blossoms! I’ve been taking tons of walks and photographing all kinds of trees in my town. Yellow, pink, purple, white, I love the colors with the new green grass and blue sky. Spring is so colorful!  It’s a nice change from the very brown winter we just had.

I made two blossom-inspired paintings, and I really love how they turned out. I had fun playing with the layer of gesso I laid on the canvas before I painted anything. I figured out how to get the gesso to crack as it dried, and I think it’s really pretty. I have another painting coming soon that’s super crackly, and it looks pretty awesome if I do say so myself. I will definitely play with this technique some more.

Here they are:

11x14 Gesso and Acrylic on Canvas

Purchase here.

11x14 Gesso and Acrylic on Canvas

Purchase here.

Both pieces are available in the shop for $85.

Have a great Monday!

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Art, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love them – thanks for sharing! Happy Monday!

  2. Oh my gosh! You are so talented. When I stumble upon a job, I am going to purchase some of your work!!!!

    Have a wonderful day,
    Currie

Leave a Reply

