Happy Anniversary to Us!

Yesterday was our 4th anniversary. I can’t believe we’ve been married for 4 years. It seems like it went by so fast, but at the same time it feels like we’ve been together forever.

I thought it would be fun to tell you our story. Sam and Kella: The Early Years.

We actually met in high school. He was a few years older than me and in the drama club. I was just starting high school and decided to join the drama club to try to make some friends and come out of my shell. I was super shy and awkward, partially because I was overweight at the time and really uncomfortable with it. I went to the opening drama social and during a game in the auditorium, I managed to fall down the stairs and dislocate my shoulder. His friends rescued me and that certainly got Sam’s attention. After that, I everyone remembered me, which was nice because I was way too shy to make an impression on my own.

Sam and I got to be good friends during rehearsals and when we’d all hang around in the drama room. He was dating someone at the time and I wasn’t old enough to date at all, but I felt differently about him. It wasn’t even a crush at the time, I just remember it as being a sort of warmth, and I really liked spending time with him.

We stayed friends after he graduated. We talked on the phone all the time, he’d come to my plays, and we’d squeeze in some time to hang out whenever we could, even if we just bummed around Walmart for a few minutes when he needed to buy socks. I remember writing in my journal, “I want to marry someone like Sam, whom I can have fun with even if we’re just buying socks at Walmart”.

Ironic?

Fast forward two years: He returned from a 2 year LDS mission and I was in college by that time. I’d dated a few guys while he was gone, lost a lot of weight, and did a little growing up. When he got back, I’d expected to pick up where we left off. I took him out to breakfast so we could catch up, and we ended spending the whole day together. By the afternoon, he informed me that we were on a date, and we actually had our first smooch that day.

I was quite surprised to say the least. I hadn’t considered the possibility that we might actually date. In high school, he’d been the cool guy while I was the awkward girl, or at least the was the way I saw it then. I’d never thought I’d liked him in that way, but once that door was opened, it made so much sense. Relationship with others guys were always so dramatic and stressful, but everything was simple and easy with him. No jealousy or competition. No ownership. It was just us. Fun.

A year later on May 6th, 2008, we got married in the Logan temple in Logan, Utah. We’ve definitely had our bumps, because we’re very different people. He’s very social and laid-back while I need lots of alone time and tend to stress out about things. Sam likes noise, I like quite. We deal with conflict differently. I wake up early and he’s a night owl. We’re both messy, but I’m slightly messier. We come from completely different backgrounds. We fight over stupid stuff sometimes.

We’re not perfect, but we’re still best friends. We still dork around at Walmart and have a great time. I’m glad I have my Sam and I look forward to many more years together 🙂

Posted on May 7, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, much happiness and love always 🙂

  2. This is so sweet! It is so funny how the things we are looking for can be right in front of our faces sometimes.

    Happy Anniversary!

  3. Congrats and Here’s to Many More Years Together!

Leave a Reply

