The Great Creator, Jim Henson

22 years ago today, Jim Henson passed away, but he left the world with his numerous creations that continue to influence people of all ages today.

Source

I wrote about Jim last year and how he revolutionized entertainment. I called him my “creative role model”, which he certainly is.

Though my work bares little or no resemblance to Jim’s, I’m still surprised by how much his work has affected my life and creativity. I almost always watch Fraggle Rock or the Muppet Show while I paint. If you’ve met me in person, you’ve experienced my oddball sense of humor and puns that were shaped by years of watching the Doctor Bob sketches on The Muppet Show. If you read my writing (which I’m assuming you do), you know that I have an optimistic view on the world and I use humor to get through the rough times.

Jim left a lasting legacy of silliness, creativity, optimism, and the general joy of being alive. Not everything he created was wildly successful, be he kept creating and playing nonetheless. He loved what he did and the people he work with. This is why he’s my creative role model.

Source

Just for fun, tell me about your favorite Jim Henson creation in the comments! The Muppet Show? Sesame Street? Labyrinth? Fraggle Rock? Let’s hear it!

Posted on May 16, 2012, in Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I loved the Muppet Show (more a family thing) and Sesame Street (learned from that show while my mom was busy around the house). Great Post – a man of genius who created something that children took into adulthood and love no matter what age. Have a Great Day:)

  2. Do I have to pick just one? I have fond memories of Sesame Street when I was little, and that blossomed into a love of The Muppet show later when I was able to find reruns on Nickelodeon or the Hallmark Channel. I love how wacky and off beat the Muppets can be.

    However, the real reason why I love Jim Henson was how creative he was at getting his vision across. I recently rewatched Labyrinth with my girlfriends and after the movie we watched the special features. The special renewed my respect for a man who put so much work into translating his vision into film.

Leave a Reply

