What do you want to be when you grow up?

Source

I’m feeling kind of lazy today, so I thought I’d let you guys help me write my post today.

My favorite question to ask people when I’m getting to know them is “What do you want to be when you grow up?” This is usually after I’ve know them long enough that they know that I’m kind of a weirdo, so this doesn’t seem odd to them. I say it this way to grown-ups instead of asking “What do you want to do?” or the dreaded “What do you want to do with your life?” which sounds too guidance counselory. I like to ask this way because this is what we’re asked when we’re children, and this is what we ask children.

Children are completely honest and don’t worry about “can’t”s or the job market or limitations of any kind. They just say what they feel. This is a good way to find our real desires.

I want to get to know you guys better, and most of you have probably been reading this here blog long enough to understand my quirks, so now I’m asking you: What do you want to be when you grow up?

I’ll start: I want/wanted to be an artist and a writer, among other things.

Ok, now it’s your turn. Lurkers, this is your chance to say hello!

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Authenticity, Creativity, Fear, Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hello! I would love to work in social media communications marketing – actually get paid to write, represent a product and push content out. If that does not pan out in the near future then just travel and write – ha! Have a Great Day Sweetie:)

Leave a Reply

